Ideals that don't travel well

One thing that I've been thinking about a lot over the last little while is how my ideals and choices change here fron what they're like at home.
 
In Sweden I don't eat meat (if it's not served to me by someone else or part of a few very special dishes that I can't resist), Here I do, often without even asking if there's a vegetarian alternative.
 
In Sweden I recycle...everything. Here, I recycle...nothing.
 
In Sweden I by my hair- and skin products in an expensive webshop that only carried organic brands. Here I by them at the supermarket, and don't read the list of ingredients.
 
In Sweden I would never dream of taking a car or a taxi to go two blocks. Here I do that a few times every week.
 
It's not because I want to. It's not my fault that people look at you super funny if you ask for vegetarian food, that there are no recucling stations, that you can't buy (as far as I know so far) organic hair- and skin products or that you can't even walk three blocks alone after a certain hour in the capital.
 
But at the same time, some dark, hidden part of my soul kind of rejoices. In not having to take responsibility. In not being able to do everything right, and therefor being able to what's easy. It's kinda sad. I wish I felt worse about throwing my plastics in the "miscaleanous" (=only) bin.
 
At least I still don't eat giant shrimp (which are probably called something different in English, but you know what I mean).
 
Love
~me

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0