First week reflections

First week In Guate, check. A ton of new impressions, lots of nostalgia from Peru (a lot of things are definitely different, but many things are also similar in the way things work, how the cities look, etc), and quite a bit of jet lag sums up the week. 

__________


One of the things that affect me most here, and that I'm not at all used to from home, is the security situation in the city. You can't really go walking after dark, and even during the day there are a lot of places that are dangerous to be in on foot, or at all. It changes very suddenly too, so that the block one side of a street or avenue can be fine for walking, while the block on the other side is controlled by gangs and super dangerous. 

Public transportation is also quite scary, someone told me today that a busdriver is killed every day in the city. I don't know if that was an actual fact or just an estimation, but regardless it says something about the security situation in general. Suffice to say I won't be taking the city bus. Taking a cab in the street can appearantly also lead to robbery, sexual assault and other very undesirable experiences. Luckily there are taxis you can call and know that they're safe, so you never need to take that particular risk. 

It's impossible not to reflect on the fact that many people take (or drive) those buses and cabs every day, or live in areas where I don't even dare to enter. One part of that is that the way I look makes me a more likely target for attacks (foreign signals rich equals more likely to be carrying valuables). That in itself tells a lot about the unjust global structures of power and economy. Another part is that not all people have the economic means to choose the safer, but more expensive, alternative. So here I am, already confronted with those constant reminders that follow from being in the global south of my own position as privileged, the doubts about my role in the global economy and the awakening of a consciousness that too often slumbers at home. Who am I to complain about petty things or wish for new things or nicer clothes when my very pattern of comsumtion and way of life, and the unjust global structures that make them possible, contribute to the poverty and insecurity I see around me here? 

__________


With all the security issues in the city (Guatemala City that is, though here it just goes by "the city", "the capital" or "Guate") it's easy to feel a little claustrophobic. That's only one of the reasons that we are taking advantage of the privilege of having time and money and spending the weekend in Antigua. A lot more touristy, but also very pretty and a lot safer. Yesterday we just hung out, walking around, looking at sights and eating good food, today we're planning a Guatemala must-do: hiking a volcano. I'm excited. 

Keep in touch you peoples!

Love 
~ me 

(The "love ~ me" part is stolen, I hope you don't mind, you from whom I stole it!)

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Hej!! Så himla roligt att få läsa dina tankar. Det låter spännande och farligt. Ta hand om dig. Jag ska följa dig här :) Kärlek!!

2015-03-22 @ 15:24:25
Postat av: Tone

Mitt namn försvann. Menade inte att vara anonym. Är du förresten aldrig inne på skype? det är ett bra verktyg för kommunikation ;) Kram!

Svar: Hej fina du! Jo, jag är visst inne på Skype ibland, vi får försöka tajma varann där! Tidsskillnaden gör det ju lite knepigt bara =p. Hoppas att allt är bra med dig, kraam!
jiaqi

2015-03-22 @ 15:26:54

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0